A music journalist once said of the Kêrels: “The Kêrels, it seemed to me sprang to life fully-formed … no halfbaked strugglings for their own special sound or vibe. They were brilliant and complete from the beginning. They seemed to have absorbed so much, musically and to provide with its synthesis something entirely unique and totally original…. and have left in their wake a handful of fervent but ultimately unsatisfactory imitators.”

The Kêrels called themselves a ‘free peace band’ “wat in Engels en Afrikaans ge-rock ‘n roll het” – one of the features of intrigue that has surrounded bands such as Khaki Monitor, the Genuines and KOOS.

This special brand of music – dubbed ‘potjiekos pop’ by the band – lent a warmth and vitality to the Joburg music scene which left their audiences glowing. Their tasteful humour allowed them to comfortably interrupt a doo-wop melody with a burst of energy,to provide deliciously, deliriously danceable music.

Their sudden dissolution in the middle of 1988 left their mark (K) embossed on the minds of all who were lucky enough to see them.

Shifty Records were able to record them just before they broke up and the record represents The Kêrels at their best exciting, energetic and fun.

Citrus Orange – bass
Crimple Green – drums
Methylated Purple – guitar and vocals

Ek sê

01. Golden Days
02. Dancing in Our Hearts
03. Gringo Blue
04. Heart in Your Hand
05. On the Lazer Beam
06. Slang
07. Jol
08. Unexpectedly
09. Bend Me/Shape Me
10. U-Turn
11. Pictures of Parties
12. Ash

Released July, 1988

Chrome Sweet Chrome

01. Skin On Skin
02. Only In The Movies
03. Twist & Turn
04. Murder She Wrote
05. Limbo 03:43
06. Take Me To Your Leader
07. Which Came First
08. Pampoensop
09. Heavy Heart
10. Credit Control
11. Itchy Bite
12. Big Wheel